Illinois State Board of Elections Illinois State Board of Elections

 
  Home   •   Return to Previous Page

Publications   •   Contact Us  



2012 General Primary and General Election

2012 General Primary and General Election

Candidates for federal, legislative, judicial and county offices will run for nomination and election in 2012. The 2012 Candidate’s Guide lists the offices which will appear on the ballot in 2012.

The 2012 General Primary Election will be conducted on Tuesday, March 20, 2012 from 6:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. The General Election will be conducted on Tuesday, November 6, 2012 from 6:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Established party candidates’ petitions must be filed for the Tuesday, March 20, 2012 General Primary Election in the Board’s Principal office located at 2329 S. MacArthur Blvd., P. O. Box 4187, Springfield, IL, 62708 from Monday, November 28 through Monday, December 5, 2011, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. excluding Saturday, December 3 and Sunday, December 4, 2011.

Presidential preference and delegates must be filed in the Board’s Principal office located at 2329 S. MacArthur Blvd., P. O. Box 4187, Springfield. IL, 62708 from Tuesday, January 3 through Friday, January 6, 2012.

For judicial vacancies which occur from Monday, November 14 through Monday, December 5, 2011, there is a special judicial filing period for established party candidates’, which runs from Monday, December 19 through Tuesday, December 27, 2011, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. excluding Saturday, December 24, Sunday, December 25, and Monday, December 26, 2011. Established party candidates seeking to fill judicial vacancies which occur before Monday, November 14, 2011 will file their petitions during the regular General Primary filing period.

Information relating to candidate qualifications, signature requirements, petition filing instructions, forms and important dates for the General Primary Election and General Election may be obtained from the State Board of Elections’ website (or by contacting the appropriate Election Authorities).



2012 General Primary and General Election

PUBWEB2